Skip to main content
Upcoming

Hrishikesh Hirway of the podcast Song Exploder

decorative shadow image decorative shadow image
decorative shadow image decorative shadow image

Hrishikesh Hirway of Song Exploder

Wednesday, Feb 23

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

WATCH

Join the VPM + ICA Community Media Center for a free, virtual talk from Hrishikesh Hirway of the podcast Song Exploder.

 


 

Song Exploder is a podcast where musicians take apart their songs, and piece by piece, tell the story of how they were made. Each episode is produced and edited by host and creator Hrishikesh Hirway in Los Angeles. Using the isolated, individual tracks from a recording, Hrishikesh asks artists to delve into the specific decisions that went into creating their work. Hrishikesh edits the interviews, removing his side of the conversation and condensing the story to be tightly focused on how the artists brought their songs to life. Guests include Fleetwood Mac, Billie Eilish, U2, Metallica, Solange, Lorde, Yo-Yo Ma, The Roots, Bon Iver, and more.

The show has been featured at the Sundance Film Festival, SXSW, Noise Pop Festival, and Moogfest. In 2016, the Sydney Opera House hosted a Song Exploder residency. Hrishikesh has spoken about Song Exploder at the Google Design Conference, the AIGA Design Conference, and given talks at Pinterest, Intel, Etsy, and IDEO.
Song Exploder is an independent podcast, and a proud member of Radiotopia, from PRX.

UPCOMING MEDIA CENTER EVENTS

There are no results.

PAST MEDIA CENTER EVENTS

Anna Sale of Death, Sex, and Money podcast

Thursday, Apr 7

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Audio Mixing Q + A with Rob Byers

Wednesday, Mar 23

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Hrishikesh Hirway of Song Exploder

Wednesday, Feb 23

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Hana Baba and Leila Day of The Stoop Podcast

Wednesday, Feb 9

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Spice It Up: Using Fiction Techniques to Tell Better Stories

Wednesday, Nov 17

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Power of the Voice: Making a Documentary with “Sister Radio”

Monday, Nov 15

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Behind the Booths: Building the Community Media Center

Wednesday, Nov 10

5:30 PM–6:30 PM

event

Podcast Community Virtual Meetup

Monday, Nov 8

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Opening Weekend: VPM + ICA Community Media Center

Nov 5, 2021 – Nov 6, 2021

event

Listen for the Hook: Perfecting the First Five Minutes of Your Podcast

Friday, Nov 5

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

“Criminal”/”This is Love” Live Show with Phoebe Judge and Lauren Spohrer

Wednesday, Apr 21

6:00 PM–8:00 PM

event

Mindful Sponsorship and the State of Branded Audio

Wednesday, Apr 14

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Let’s Apply to Spotify: Tips for Getting a Job in Podcasts with Blake Day

Wednesday, Mar 31

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Producers Institute II: Listening Session with Ramtin Arablouei

Wednesday, Mar 24

4:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Producers Institute I: Keynote & Questions with Ramtin Arablouei

Tuesday, Mar 23

4:00 PM–6:00 PM

event

Producers Institute Special: Mixing Best Practices with Rob Byers and Michael Raphael

Wednesday, Mar 17

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Skill Share IV: Music and Scoring with Ramtin Arablouei of NPR’s “Throughline”

Wednesday, Mar 10

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Skill Share III: Scripting Your Podcast with Leah Sottile of “Bundyville”

Wednesday, Mar 3

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Skill Share II: The Art of the Interview with Chioke I’Anson

Wednesday, Feb 24

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Skill Share I: Developing Your Podcast Pitch with Chioke I’Anson

Wednesday, Feb 17

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Producers Institute with Vivian Le (2 of 2): Listening Session

Wednesday, Nov 18

4:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Producers Institute with Vivian Le (1 of 2): Keynote & Questions

Tuesday, Nov 17

5:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Live Preview: Shape of the City

Wednesday, Nov 11

6:00 PM–7:30 PM

event

Reclaiming the Refugee Narrative: Ahmed Badr in Conversation with Dr. Chioke I’Anson

Wednesday, Oct 28

5:00 PM–6:30 PM

event

Producers Institute with Alison MacAdam (2 of 2): Listening Session

Wednesday, Oct 14

4:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Producers Institute with Alison MacAdam (1 of 2): Keynote & Questions

Tuesday, Oct 13

5:00 PM–7:00 PM

event

Skill Share III: Drafting Your Podcast Script

Wednesday, Sep 30

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Skill Share II: How to Interview

Wednesday, Sep 23

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Skill Share I: Developing Your Podcast Idea

Wednesday, Sep 16

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

event

Nurturing New Voices: An Unveiling

Wednesday, Sep 2

6:00 PM–7:00 PM

event